专业服务

classic interior of cozy beauty shop

我为来访者(clients)提供循证心理学服务,包括心理咨询与治疗和诊断性的心理评估。我同时也为心理健康专业人士提供专业咨商和临床督导。

我居住在加拿大安大略省多伦多市,目前由于COVID-19疫情,我只提供远程视频服务,并且只面向安大略省的常住居民。我不是精神科医生,不具备处方权。

专业咨商服务不限地区,临床督导只面向安大略省的受训心理学家。

我说英文和普通话/中文/国语。

brown plant on white ceramic vase

心理咨询与治疗

心理咨询与治疗是一个治疗师和来访者一起努力,帮助来访者提升心理健康水平的过程。它通常以谈话的形式进行,并且来访者需要进行一些心理技巧方面的练习。我的心理咨询和治疗方法主要建立在认知行为治疗(Cognitive Behavioral Therapy,CBT),接纳承诺治疗(Acceptance and Commitment Therapy,ACT)和人际历程(Interpersonal Process)的基础上。我只对成年人提供一对一的心理学服务。

诊断性心理评估

作为一名注册心理学家,我可以合法地开具诊断。诊断性心理评估通常需要评估者和来访者进行临床问诊,评估者需要询问很多关于症状和过往史的问题。我通常会用半结构化的问诊工具,并且会依据DSM-5诊断标准(美国精神医学会出版的诊断手册)对心理障碍进行评估。你也可能需要填一些问卷。这个类型的心理评估的目的一般是为了提出后续的干预计划和确定某些福利保险的申报条件。

colleagues shaking each other s hands

专业咨商(Consultation)

专业咨商是一种同行之间的业务顾问,咨商者根据自己的临床专长提供信息和建议,寻求咨商者自行决定是否需要采纳。这种咨商关系里提供的信息和建议通常不具备约束性,咨商者因此无需为被咨商者最终进行的专业行为负责。作为同行,如果你觉得我的临床专长可以帮到你,欢迎找我进行专业咨商。

women having a conversation

临床督导(Supervision)

安大略省心理学家学会(CPO)将临床督导定义为“一种持续性的带有教育,评价和等级性质的关系。在这种关系里,受督者需要遵从督导的指导,督导也需要为受督者的行为负责。”

我采用的是整合发展督导模型(Integrative Developmental Model),我也经常向受督者寻求反馈。如果你是正在获取独立执照的心理学家, 我可以为你提供临床督导。如果你觉得我们的临床专长比较匹配,让我们进一步沟通。


心理咨询及治疗

心理咨询与治疗是一个治疗师和来访者一起努力,帮助来访者提升心理健康水平的过程。它通常以谈话的形式进行,并且来访者需要进行一些心理技巧方面的练习。我的心理咨询和治疗方法主要建立在认知行为治疗(Cognitive Behavioral Therapy,CBT),接纳承诺治疗(Acceptance and Commitment Therapy,ACT)和人际历程(Interpersonal Process)的基础上。我只对成年人提供一对一的心理学服务。我不是精神科医生,不具备处方权。

在我们的第一次预约里,我通常会询问你很多问题,目的是为了更好地了解你的困扰。在绝大部分情况下,我在第一次预约的末尾,都会提供一份后续的干预方案,并且会与你一起讨论它,确保这个方案符合你的咨询目标。在我们的整个工作过程中,我都会经常询问你对咨询和治疗过程的反馈,目的也是为了确保我的工作能够持续符合你的期望。

从第二次预约开始,我们一般会开始正式的干预。我的心理咨询和治疗方法主要有三个支柱: 认知行为治疗(Cognitive Behavioral Therapy,CBT), 接纳承诺治疗(Acceptance and Commitment Therapy,ACT)以及人际历程(Interpersonal Process)。我接下来会高度概括地介绍一下它们的原理。

从认知行为治疗(CBT)的角度来看,人们的各种体验可以被分为5个成分:环境,想法,情绪,行为和身体反应。环境指的是导致某种内心体验出现的事情(即,发生的事情);有些时候我们是可以控制环境的,有些时候我们对环境无能为力。其他的4个成分是对环境做出的反应。想法指的是我们对所发生事件的理解(即,你怎么看待这件事)。情绪指的是我们对所发生的事件的情绪感受。行为指的是我们在某件事发生后,做了些什么来应对它。身体反应指的是某些事件发生后,我们的身体可能会出现一些反应。以上提到的这5个成分是相互作用的,当风平浪静的时候,一切安好。当被扰动后,它们则可能形成一个恶性循环。比如,当一个人越焦虑/难过的时候,TA看待事情的角度通常也会越悲观。行为层面,TA可能要么做很多事情(比如过度准备),要么做很少事情(比如逃避拖延)。身体反应上,有些人可能会产生强烈的身体症状,比如胸闷气短,发冷发热,肌肉疼痛等等。CBT的目的则是在每个成分上面分别做一些积极的改变,让这个循环从恶性变成良性。

接纳承诺治疗(ACT)是另外一个我使用很多的疗法。有些时候人们即使知道自己的一些想法不合理或者担心没必要,但还是止不住地有很多负面情绪,比如焦虑,难过,恐慌等等。很多人会卡在这些负面情绪里面出不来,每天会花很多时间跟这些情绪做斗争,以至于没有办法真正做一些有意义的事情。ACT的目标则在于帮助人们探索人生的意义,发现是什么在阻碍自己实现人生意义,然后学习一些理念和技巧,或解决这些阻碍,或接纳它们,或减轻这些阻碍的威力,最终实现自己的人生意义。ACT的终极治疗目标是帮助人们过一个完满的人生,即使有些时候人们不得不学会和各种各样的人生苦难共存。

心理咨询和治疗是在一段专业性质的人际关系(我们称之为治疗关系)中进行的。我致力于为我的来访者们营造一个充满理解,温情,善意和不评判的环境,所以TA们能够放心地分享自己的内心体验和经历。与此同时,作为来访者,进入一段专业性质的人际关系,也是一个绝佳的机会,让你能够听到一些反馈,来帮助你更好地理解自己总体上是如何与其他人互动的。这种反馈可能在日常生活中比较难以从旁人口中听到。

最后,取决于我们的治疗目标,我通常会建议你在咨询中和咨询结束后练习一些心理技巧。这意味着,我们不会仅仅只是谈论你的困扰,尽管这非常重要,然而它还不够。有些时候要想出现一些积极的改变,还需要练习一些技巧,我们也会在咨询中经常讨论你的这些练习。

我擅长处理的问题包括:

  • 抑郁情绪/抑郁症
  • 自我指责/批评
  • 社交焦虑(又称社恐)
  • 情绪困扰
  • 健康焦虑(疑病症)
  • 人生意义问题
  • 双相情感体验(躁狂抑郁体验)
  • 愤怒管理(脾气不好)
  • 慢性疼痛
  • 丧失和哀悼(如丧亲,失恋等)
  • 焦虑情绪/焦虑症
  • 抗压
  • 人生阶段的过渡
  • 职业生涯规划
  • 婚恋关系问题
  • 人际关系困扰
  • 失眠
  • 强迫症
  • 创伤经历
  • 思觉失调(psychosis)
  • 癌症的心理负担

你可以直接联系我开始咨询,无需家庭医生或专科医生的转介(referral)。如果你是医护人员,想要给我转介来访者,也可以直接联系我。

每一次预约的时长是50分钟。疗程方面,短程心理咨询及治疗,一般在8-20次预约。一般来说,我们会每周有一次预约。不过这些都需要具体情况具体分析。

作为被法律规范化管理的医疗健康专业人士,你的隐私性在我的服务中会得到充分保护。法律也规定了一些无法保证隐私的情况,我们在开始正式咨询之前都会一起讨论的。

我的服务不被全民医保(OHIP)所报销,大多数私人商业医保和工作单位福利都会报销我的服务。请询问你的保险公司,以确保我的服务是可以报销的。


诊断性心理评估

作为一名注册心理学家,我可以合法地开具诊断。诊断性心理评估有些时候能够帮助你更好地了解自己的困扰,有些时候也能够确认一些你的担心。通常来说,第三方组织或个人(如保险公司,雇主等)会要求你提供一份诊断性心理评估报告,以便确定是否满足申报某些福利的条件(比如伤残保险-disability benefits,病假-sick leave,工作场所的合理安排-workplace accommodation等等)。

诊断性心理评估的过程简介:

诊断性心理评估通常需要评估者和来访者进行临床问诊,评估者需要询问很多关于症状和过往史的问题。我通常会用半结构化的问诊工具,并且会依据DSM-5诊断标准(美国精神医学会出版的诊断手册)对心理障碍进行评估。你也可能需要填一些问卷。

评估结束后,评估者也会和你一起讨论评估结果以及完成相应的文书。


%d 博主赞过:

Services

classic interior of cozy beauty shop

I provide evidence-based psychological services to clients, including counselling/psychotherapy and diagnostic assessment in both English and Mandarin. I also provide professional consultation and clinical suerpvision to fellow mental health professionals.

I am located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Currently, I only provide virtual services due to COVID-19.

Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy is a process in which the therapist and the client work together to improve clients’ mental health. It primarily takes the form of talking and usually involves the practice of various techniques. My therapeutic approaches are mainly based on Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) and Interpersonal process. Please know, I only provide individual therapy with adults.

Diagnostic Assessment

As a Registered Psychologist, I can legally communicate a diagnosis. Diagnostic assessment involves an interview with an assessor who will ask questions about your symptoms and history. I conduct a semi-structured diagnostic interview to assess psychological disorders based on DSM-5 Criteria (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, American Psychiatric Association). You may also be asked to fill out some forms. This type of assessment is usually for treatment planning and determining eligibility for benefits.

Professional Consultation

Consultation is defined by the College of Psychologist of Ontario (CPO) as “the provision of information, within a relationship of professionals of relatively equal status, generally based upon a limited amount of information that offers a point of view that is not binding with respect to the subsequent professional behaviour of the recipient of the information.” If you, as a fellow mental health professional, think that my expertise can be helpful for your clinical work, feel free to contact me.

Clinical Supervision

Clinical supervision is defined by the CPO as “an ongoing educational, evaluative and hierarchical relationship, where the supervisee is required to comply with the direction of the supervisor, and the supervisor is responsible for the actions of the supervisee.”

I follow an Integrative Developmental Model of supervision, and I actively seek feedback from my supervisees. If you are a psychologist-in-training who is seeking to be licensed, I can provide clinical supervision for your supervised practice year. Let’s talk more about the fit.


Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy is a process in which the therapist and the client work together to improve clients’ mental health. It primarily takes the form of talking and usually involves the practice of various techniques. My therapeutic approaches are mainly based on Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) and Interpersonal Process. Please know, I only provide individual therapy with adults, and I can’t prescribe medications.

During the first session, I usually ask you many questions to have a better understanding of your concerns. Most of the time, I will come up with an intervention plan at the end of the first session. Then, we need to discuss to make sure it meets your expectations. Throughout the entire therapy process, I will keep asking for your feedback on our sessions; the purpose is to ensure that we are on the same page and my work can constantly meet your goals.

Starting from the second session, we usually commence intervention. The three pillars of my therapy are Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) and Interpersonal Process. I will introduce a bit more about them as follows:

From the perspective of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), people’s experiences can be grouped into 5 elements: environment, thoughts, emotions, behaviours, and body sensations. Environment refers to the trigger of our experiences (i.e., what happened); sometimes, we can change it, sometimes, we cannot. The other 4 elements are the responses to the trigger. Thoughts refer to our interpretation of what happened (i.e., trigger). Emotions mean our feelings about what happened. Behaviours are what we do about what happened, and body sensations are what our body feels after what happened. Those 5 elements interact with each other; when things go well, they function well. When things are not going well, they can become a vicious cycle. The more anxious/depressed you are, the more negatively you interpret things. Behaviorally, you may either do too much or too little. Physically, you may have intense body sensations, such as shortness of breath, chest pain, muscle tensions, etc. The purpose of CBT is to change how those 5 elements interact with each other by working on each element.

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) is another approach I utilize frequently. Sometimes even if people know that their thoughts are not reasonable, they can’t help feeling depressed/anxious/fearful etc. As a result, they usually get caught up with those negative feelings and spend much time fighting with them. Therefore, they often forget about doing meaningful things in their life. ACT aims at helping people explore what matters to their life, identify what gets in the way, develop strategies to solve the problems, accept challenging experiences or reduce the power of them, and live a fulfilling life. That being said, living a meaningful life is the ultimate goal of ACT. Sometimes people can make it happen despite having challenges in their life.

Psychotherapy occurs in the context of a professional relationship (we call it a therapeutic relationship). I strive to create an understanding, warm, non-judgmental, and empathic environment for my clients so that they feel safe to share their private experiences. Also, entering a professional relationship is an excellent opportunity for clients to get feedback from therapists on their way of interacting with people in general. This type of feedback may not be easily obtained in clients’ daily life.

Lastly, depending on our therapy goals, I usually ask you to do practices during and in between sessions. That being said, we won’t just talk about your concerns. Talking is extremely important, but sometimes it is not enough if you want to see more positive changes. You should expect to practice techniques and review them in our therapy.

Issues I help with include:

  • Depression
  • Self-Criticism
  • Social Anxiety
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Health Anxiety (hypochondriac)
  • Meaning of Life Issues
  • Bipolar experiences
  • Anger Management
  • Chronic Pain
  • Coping Skills
  • Grief and loss
  • Generalized Anxiety
  • Stress management
  • Life Transitions
  • Career Counselling
  • Romantic Relationship Concerns
  • Interpersonal Relationship Issues
  • Sleep or Insomnia
  • Obsessive-Compulsive symptoms
  • Traumatic experiences
  • Psychosis
  • Cancer

Self-referrals are welcome and do not require a formal referral from a doctor. I also accept referrals from other health care professionals.

Every session is 50 minutes in length. Short-term therapy usually lasts 8-20 sessions and we typically meet on a weekly basis. However, it will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

As a regulated health professional, your confidentiality and privacy are protected. There are limits of confidentiality set by law, and we will review them in our first session.

My service is not covered by OHIP but may be covered by some private extended health insurance plans or workplace benefits. Please consult your individual healthcare insurance plan to determine the extent of coverage provided.


Diagnostic Assessment

As a Registered Psychologist, I can legally communicate a diagnosis. Diagnostic assessment sometimes can help you better understand your experiences and reassure you of your concerns. Oftentimes, third-party organizations or individuals (e.g., insurance companies, employers, etc.) request for diagnostic assessment to determine the eligibility of benefits (e.g., disability benefits, absence of leave/sick leave, workplace accommodation, etc.).

What assessment process looks like:

Diagnostic assessment involves an interview with an assessor who will ask questions about your symptoms and history. I conduct a semi-structured diagnostic interview to assess for psychological disorders based on DSM-5 Criteria (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, American Psychiatric Association). You may also be asked to fill out some forms.

After the assessment, the assessor will discuss the results with you and complete the required paperwork.